On November 18, 2022, NCCE hosted the 2022 “Engagement Matters” Student Awards Ceremony. Nineteen outstanding students, from within the NCCE member network of colleges and universities, were recognized for their civic and community engagement leadership. The award recipients shared powerful insights about what they have gained or learned by being civically engaged. Friends, loved ones, and campus constituents participated in the Ceremony from throughout the country to celebrate these inspiring students.

View the video of the ceremony.

Barnhill Civic Trailblazer Award Winner

The John H. Barnhill Civic Trailblazer Award recognizes one undergraduate student in the state, in their final year, who has demonstrated innovation in civic engagement, worked to integrate their service into campus structures, inspired others to service, and made a meaningful impact on campus or in the community.

2022 Barnhill Civic Trailblazer
Kamren Lewis, UNC Pembroke

Kamren was recognized for his many civic engagement efforts as a student leader in the Office for Community and Civic Engagement. Most notably, he helped create the Brave Foundations Mentoring Program, an ongoing partnership between UNCP and the Lumberton and Pembroke Housing Authority. UNCP students mentor youth in two public housing locations weekly.   

Community Impact Student Award Recipients

Fifteen students were selected by their institution to receive at 2022 Community Impact Student Award (CISA). All award winners should clearly demonstrate:

  • Deep commitment to partnering with others to address community issues
  • Outstanding ability to lead and inspire fellow students to engage
  • Evidence of sustainable impact of their work

2022 CISA Recipients

  • Appalachian State University – Meredith Maiken
  • Duke University – Kiran Sundar
  • East Carolina University – Tete Narh-Mensah
  • Elon University – Nicole McGinty
  • Fayetteville State University – Iyana Beachem
  • High Point University – Glenda Emanuel
  • NC Central University – Breann Wyman
  • UNC Asheville  –  Mars  Zappia
  • UNC-Chapel Hill – Alvin Dinh
  • UNC Charlotte – David Rodriguez
  • UNC Greensboro – Simone Watkins
  • UNC Pembroke – Magally Ortiz-Rojas
  • UNC Wilmington – Deiona Stanley
  • Warren Wilson College –  Kenia Romero
  • Western Carolina University – Sarah Tisinger

Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship Recipients

The Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship supports the participation of college students in an alternative break program organized by an NCCE member school. The recipient must demonstrate capacity and desire to lead, facilitate, or organize a Break Trip. The following students were awarded a $250 scholarship.

This Scholarship was proposed and funded starting in 2015 by Aaron Marshall, a former Community Impact Student Award and Barnhill Civic Trailblazer Award winner. During his undergraduate career at Western Carolina University, Aaron was part of 9 alternative service trips as a participant and leader. He wanted to “pay it forward” to ensure that other students could experience transformative experience of an ASB.

2022 Marshall Scholarship Recipients

Appalachian State University – Lily Hernandez
Winter Break 2022 service trip to
the Dominican Republic to work on clean water access by helping set up domestic collection systems and wells in local communities.

 UNC Pembroke – Cara Martin and Cassie Burnett
Spring Break 2023 service trip to
Baltimore, MD to serve and learn more about indigenous culture.