Community Impact Student Award header

Community Impact Student Award

Since 2006, the Community Impact Student Awards recognize an outstanding, full-time undergraduate student service leader from each member campus. The call for nominations starts the first week in September and the nominations are due the first week in October.

Starting in 2019, the award is only presented in-person on odd-numbered years during the CSNAP Student Conference. The award is presented in a virtual ceremony during even-numbered years when we host the Community Change Collegiate Challenge (4C)

The award may honor an individual for multiple or diverse forms of engagement, including: 

  • volunteer service
  • service-learning
  • policy work
  • community organizing
  • advocacy, internships
  • campus leadership

All award winners should clearly demonstrate:

  • Deep commitment to partnering with others to address community issues
  • Outstanding ability to lead and inspire fellow students to engage
  • Evidence of sustainable impact of their work

Community Impact Award winners are selected by each campus. Any sophomore or junior (4-year schools) or first year students (2-year schools) at a member campus is eligible. Being selected to receive the CISA automatically nominates the student to participate in the 18-month NC Civic Impact Fellowship.

Selection Process:

1. Campus chooses Impact Award honoree.

2. Campus faculty or staff member requests a Letter of Approval from their institution’s president/chancellor to nominate the student for the NC Civic Impact Fellowship

If the student wants to opt-out of the Fellowship, the nominator may elect to submit the form without the Presidential Letter of Approval.

3. Nominator submits student info via the form below.

5. Campus faculty or staff member uploads the Impact Award honoree headshot image on this form or sends it to

2023 Recipients

The 2023 CISA recipients were honored during the award luncheon at the CSNAP Student Conference, held on November 4 at NC State University. Click here to view the program and read award winner bios.


Appalachian State University – Savannah Raley

Central Piedmont Community College – Demi Snow

East Carolina University – Jordyn Strupp

Elon University – Bo Dalrymple

Fayetteville State University – Alexis Nealy

Greensboro College – Xypher Pino

High Point University – Osliany Mora-Morejon

North Carolina Central University – Tierra Rowell

NC State University – Madeline Scott

UNC Asheville – Indigo Lesser

UNC Chapel Hill – Adriana Torres

UNC Pembroke – Magally Ortiz-Rojas

UNC Wilmingon – Amaria Rankins

Wake Forest University – Couriyah Stegall

Warren Wilson College – Seimy Mendoza

William Peace University – Christopher Simmering





2022 Recipients

The 2022 CISA recipients were honored during a virtual “Engagement Matters” Awards Ceremony on November 18, 2022. View the video to learn about each winner and to hear their thoughts on what they have gained from being civically engagement.

Appalachian State University – Meredith Maiken
Duke University – Kiran Sundar
East Carolina University – Tete Narh-Mensah
Elon University  – Nicole McGinty
Fayetteville State University – Iyana Beachem
High Point University – Glenda Emanuel
NC Central University – Breann Wyman
UNC Asheville – Mars Zappia
UNC Chapel Hill – Alvin Dinh
UNC Charlotte – David Rodriguez
UNC Greensboro – Simone Watkins
UNC Pembroke – Magally Ortiz-Rojas
UNC Wilmington – Deiona Stanley
Warren Wilson College –Kenia Romero
Western Carolina University – Sarah Tisinger

2021 Community Impact Student Award Recipients

We honored the 15 Community Impact Student Awards during a virtual (Zoom) ceremony on November 5, 2021.

Previous Winners

Click above for the list of all previous winners (2006-present). The document is a spreadsheet with a tab for each year.