Sikes and students

Civic Engagement Professional of the Year

The Civic Engagement Professional of the Year Award (CEPY) recognizes a staff person at a member campus who has worked to institutionalize service, fostered a vision of service, supported faculty and students, and formed innovative campus-community partnerships. The award is presented during the PACE Conference. Nominations typically open in mid-September and close the first week in December. 

Now Accepting Nominations for the 2024 Civic Engagement Professional of the Year Award!

Deadline: December 8, 2023

Read the CALL FOR NOMINATIONS which includes the link to the Nomination Form.  We will present the 2024 CEPY on February 14, 2024 during the PACE Conference at Guilford College.

Questions? Contact Leslie Garvin.

2023 Recipient

Jaime Russell, Ed.D.

Director of Student Community Engagement, UNC Wilmington

NCCE presented the award to Russell on February 15, 2023 during the PACE Conference at High Point University (pictured with UNCW Chancellor Aswani Volety who was in attendance).

Read the UNCW news article.

Kathy Sikes, M.Ed.

Past Recipients

2022 – Kathy Sikes, Duke University

2021 – Marianne Magjuka, Wake Forest University

2020 – Lori Kniffin, UNC Greensboro

2019 – Sean Langley, UNC Charlotte

2018 – Charlotte Williams, Lenoir-Rhyne University (Sustainer Award) and Dr. Tamara Johnson, UNC Charlotte (Emerging Leader)

2017 – Smith Jackson, Elon University

2016 – Cathy Kramer, Warren Wilson College (Sustainer) and Kelly Misiak, Pfeiffer University (Emerging Leader)

2015 – Dena Shonts, Central Piedmont Community College (Sustainer) and Dr. Lane Perry, Western Carolina University (Emerging Leader)

2014 – Dr Emily Janke, UNC Greensboro (Sustainer) and Rev. Dr. Joe Blosser, High Point University (Emerging Leader)

2013 – Elaine Madison, Duke University

2012 – Aubrey Swett, UNC Pembroke

2011 – Mary Morrison, Elon University

2010 – Jenny Huq, UNC-Chapel Hill

2009 – Julie Lawson, Peace College (Emerging Leader); Dr. Stacey Riemer, Davidson College (Sustainer); and Dr. Susan Harden, UNC Charlotte (Innovator)

2008 – James Shields, Guilford College

2007 – Jenny Koehn, Appalachian State University

2006 – Jason Denius, East Carolina University